Set up a recovery group on your computer

Why do I need to set up a Recovery Group?

 

Your PreVeil account can only be accessed on computers, tablets, or phones that have your private key installed. To reduce the possibility that a hacker could gain access to your private key, PreVeil does not keep a copy of it. Therefore, if you lose your device that contains your PreVeil private key, and you only have the key on that device, the only way to recover your account is if you have set up a Recovery Group.

 

TIP: If your private key is on more than one computer, tablet, or phone, and you lose only one of those devices, you can copy the key from one of your remaining devices to your new computer, tablet, or phone.

 
 

What is a Recovery Group?

 

PreVeil allows you to recover your account by setting up a Recovery Group – a group of individuals you trust who will let you regain access to your account in case you lose your devices. Recovery Groups use PreVeil’s Approval Group Technology, which is a patent-pending method for recovering your private key without giving anybody (even members of your recovery group) access to your account or your data.

 

To set up a recovery group for your PreVeil account while you are on a Mac or PC, follow the steps below:

 

Go to www.preveil.com/app and login to your account. If you have multiple accounts, verify that you are logged in with the proper account.

 

Click SETTINGS at the top right of the page by your account name.  On the Settings menu, select Recovery Group.

 

 

The following page displays:

 

 

Enter the PreVeil email accounts for individuals you’d like to include in your recovery group one by one and click the “Add Member” button after each one. If you accidentally type in an incorrect address, you can click the ‘x’ next to the entry to remove it from the list.

 

NOTE: Everyone in your recovery group must be a PreVeil user. We recommend that you add at least 3 members.

 

 

Once you have listed your Recovery Group members, use the Options box to select the number of responses you need in order to recover your account.  We recommend setting this to at least 2.

 

Once your selection is complete, click the “Save Recovery Group” button.

 
NOTE: You can set your initial recovery group at any time. Keep in mind, however, that you will be required to get approval from the selected number of members of your recovery group before you make any future changes to it.
 

 

You’re all set! Now if you ever lose your devices, you’ll be able to reach out to your recovery group to get your account back. Click here to read about the recovery process.

Can't find something?

We're here to help.